Technical Description of the Groupware Migration Service
For cross-migrations between different groupware systems please note our technical service description for cross migrations as well as the basic technical service description. If you just want to migrate email data, please note the Technical Description of the Email Migration Service instead of this document.

Prerequisites

  • A recent Internet browser with JavaScript support is required for the usage of the audriga groupware migration service.
  • The groupware migration service can be used to migrate emails, contacts, calendars and tasks or to backup one or more groupware accounts, that can be accessed from a groupware server.
  • A groupware migration is curently only supported from Open-Xchange to Open-Xchange and from Microsoft Exchange to Microsoft Exchange. All directly supported source and destination providers are listed at https://umzug.audriga.com/SMESwitchWebApp/?client=groupware (Open-Xchange) respectively https://umzug.audriga.com/SMESwitchWebApp/?client=exchange (Microsoft Exchange).
  • The user may manually configure servers. The audriga migration service requires that the IMAP- or POP3-server complies with the respective standard completly and without errors. An Open-Xchange server must run a system version higher than 6.20.x. An Exchange Server must run Exchange 2007, 2010 or 2013 and allow Exchange Web Service (EWS) access. Throttling policies need to be configured such that a migration plus parallel user access is possible.
  • To allow for a quick migration, the server needs to have a 10 MBit internet connection at least. However, since we are not able to do regular quality checks on manually configured servers, we can not completely gurantee that the migration service will work.
  • For operational reasons, migrations are limited to a maximum of 50 groupware accounts and 500 GB of data. A single groupware account may not exceed 25 GB of data. Please contact us in advance, if you want to migrate larger data volumes.
  • For operational reasons, we do not migrated emails larger than 64 MB by default. Please contact us in advance if you would like to migrate larger emails.
  • So called "shared folders" will not be migrated.

Functionality

  • Connections from the audriga migration service to source and destination groupware providers are encrypted by default, using SSL and STARTTLS. Only if either the source or destination provider does not support encrypted connections, our system will fall back to unencrypted connections.
  • During the migration process, emails, contacts, calendar and task items will be copied from the source to the destination groupware provider. No changes are made in the destination account.
  • In the destination account, folders and subfolders will be created according to the folder hierarchy in the source account.
  • Some destination providers restrict the creation of folders in a way (e.g., restrictions concerning the depth of folder hiearchy or folder names). Folders from the source accounts that can not be mapped to the destination account will be omitted. The user will be informed if this happens.
  • Emails will be copied from the source account to the destination account including attachments.
  • Contacts will be copied from the source account to the destination account including attachments.
  • Calender and task items will be copied from the source account to the destination account including attachments. Also participant information will be transfered. If participant information can not be copied, the user will be informed.
  • If supported by the destination provider, flag of an email (e.g., read, unread, important) will be preserved
  • If an identical email is contained multiple times in a folder, it will be migrated to the destination account only once. An email is also categorized as a duplicate and will not be migrated, if an identical email already exists in the destination account. The same procedure is used for contacts, calendar and task items.
  • If an email exceeds the data volume limitation of the destination provider, it will not be migrated. The user will be informed if this happens.